Introduction. By default, the Delete Confirmation Dialog box feature is disabled in Windows 10. Method 1 - Via Recycle Bin Properties. By using the Recycle Bin Properties option, the user can easily enable the delete confirmation dialog box option.Method 2 - Using the Registry Editor. By using the registry editor, the user can also enable the delete confirmation dialog box. Follow the below instructions.Conclusion. By following the above steps, you can enable the delete confirmation dialog box in Windows 10. Why Enable The Delete Confirmation Dialogue Box in Windows 10! The Windows 10 delete confirmation is a safety warning that pops up when you delete a file. It was added to prevent accidental deletion of important files. Instead of deleting the file immediately, you will be greeted with the “ Are you sure you want to delete ” dialog box.
How to enable or disable the delete confirmation dialog in Windows 10?
The option for enabling and disabling the delete confirmation dialog is available in the properties window of Recycle Bin. This is the default way to enable or disable the option. Since the Recycle Bin can be found on the desktop, it requires just a few clicks to enable it.
Why is there no confirmation dialog box when I delete files?
The previous versions of Windows used to display a confirmation dialog box whenever users try to delete files. This feature has been disabled as default since Windows 8. Since the deleted files are directly moved to Recycle Bin, the use of the confirmation dialog box was less.
How to display delete confirmation dialog in Recycle Bin?
Right-click on the Recycle Bin folder and click on the "Properties" option. "Recycle Bin Properties" window will appear on the screen. Click (select) on the "Display delete confirmation dialog" option and click on the "Apply" button to proceed. And, when you delete any file or folder then, the delete confirmation dialog will appear on the screen.
Why does Windows 10 require confirmation when I delete a file?
In Microsoft Windows 10, when you ask the operating system to delete a file, by default, the system will ask you to confirm your action. Under normal use, this brief interaction helps ensure you don't delete an important file by accident.