• Home
  • What happens when you reset all settings on an iDevice?

What happens when you reset all settings on an iDevice?

Our expert answer
Your Q
In fact, there is a subtle difference between them. "Erase all content and Settings" factory resets your iPhone and wipe all things on your device while "Reset All Settings" only resets your device's preferences and settings to its default value (no data loss). However, they both only visually delete your data rather than thoroughly.
As mentioned above, the primary difference between both reset options is that one only resets settings while the other resets settings and erases user data/media. Because of this simple yet significant difference, the reset option you should choose depends on your specific needs.Reset All Settings . Reset All Settings is an option that restores all settings of the iDevice to factory settings, without erasing user data/media. Erase All Content and Settings. As the name suggests, Erase All Content and Settings erases everything off the iDevice, restoring it to factory settings.A factory reset relates to the rebooting of the entire system, while hard resets relates to the resetting of any hardware in the system. Wikipedia states that "a factory reset or master reset is a full restore of an electronic device to its factory settings." Factory reset reboots the entire system.Reset All Settings is a reset option which is useful when your iDevice is encountering various issues because of the changes in device settings and configurations. These changes may include your home screen arrangement, general system settings, keyboard settings, etc. Reset All Settings will fix such issues.

What is the difference between reset all settings and erase all settings?

Difference between Reset All Settings and Erase All Content and Settings. The difference between both reset options is explained below: Reset All Settings is an option that restores all settings of the iDevice to factory settings, without erasing user data/media.

What does the reset all content and settings button do?

It is Erase All Content and Settings". This erases all user content from the iPad and resets the Settings to default values. Reset All Settings and Erase All Content and Settings do different things. Reset all Settings removes things like your Wifi password and settings you've set on your iPad for Apps, mail, etc.

What is the difference between factory reset and reset all settings?

"Erase all content and Settings" factory resets your iPhone and wipe all things on your device while "Reset All Settings" only resets your device's preferences and settings to its default value (no data loss). However, they both only visually delete your data rather than thoroughly.

What happens when you reset all settings on an iDevice?

These changes may include your home screen arrangement, general system settings, keyboard settings, etc. Reset All Settings will fix such issues. Furthermore, if your iDevice feels sluggish and you want to restore its performance without losing any of your data, then you should use this reset option.

What happens when you reset all settings on an iDevice?

Below are two helpful articles on a similar topic 👇

What is reset all settings in Windows 10?

What happens when you Hard Reset your Android phone?

Tired of looking for a video answer?

The answer is near 👇

Was this article helpful?

Yes No

Thanks so much for your feedback!

Have more questions? Submit a request

FAQ in 24 hours

Comments

Leave a Comment

Just Scan NOW! 📱

Email us