• Home
  • Is it safe to use SupportAssist?

Is it safe to use SupportAssist?

Our expert answer
Your Q
When your computer is unable to boot to the operating system even after repeated attempts, it automatically starts SupportAssist OS Recovery. The recovery environment enables you to diagnose hardware issues, repair your computer, back up your files, or restore your computer to its factory state.
dell.comИзображение:dell.comDell SupportAssist OS Recovery: In case a critical issue is detected, users can still get help, even if they can’t access the OS. This feature will automatically load and scan the PC while giving issue details. In addition, the OS Recovery feature will guide them in the process of creating a support request with Dell.In the left pane, expand SupportAssist System Resolution, and then select SupportAssist OS Recovery. In the right pane, select or clear the SupportAssist OS Recovery check box to enable or disable the automatic start of SupportAssist OS Recovery. Press F10 to save the changes and exit.Manufacturer-supplied tools like SupportAssist provide diagnostics, optimizations, and updates specific to your machine. It’s generally safe to let these types of support tools update your machine and drivers. The manufacturer may require the tool be run before giving you further support. These tools can be run either automatically or on-demand.

What can I do with Dell SupportAssist OS recovery?

In the recovery environment, you can diagnose hardware problems, repair your computer, back up files, or restore your computer to its factory state. The Dell SupportAssist OS Recovery is only available on certain Dell systems that run a Dell factory-installed Microsoft Windows 10 operating system.

How to enable support assist system resolution and SupportAssist OS recovery?

Go to Support Assist System Resolution or SupportAssist depending on your BIOS version; Go to SupportAssist OS Recovery; Click on the checkbox to enable SupportAssist OS Recovery or SupportAssist depending on your BIOS version; Save and exit the BIOS, the system will restart, and now you can start the process from Step 1.

How do I Turn Off SupportAssist in Windows 10?

1 Turn on your computer. 2 Press F2 to enter System Setup. 3 In the left pane, expand SupportAssist System Resolution and select Auto OS Recovery Threshold. 4 Then choose OFF to disable the automatic start of SupportAssist System Resolutions and the SupportAssist OS Recovery.

Is it safe to use SupportAssist?

Manufacturer-supplied tools like SupportAssist provide diagnostics, optimizations, and updates specific to your machine. It’s generally safe to let these types of support tools update your machine and drivers. The manufacturer may require the tool be run before giving you further support.

Is it safe to use SupportAssist?

Below are two helpful articles on a similar topic 👇

What is a Sara adjustment?

How to fix “show most used apps” option in Start menu?

Tired of looking for a video answer?

The answer is near 👇

Was this article helpful?

Yes No

Thanks so much for your feedback!

Have more questions? Submit a request

FAQ in 24 hours

  • What is VNF?
  • Network functions virtualization (NFV) is an initiative to virtualize network services traditionally run on proprietary, dedicated hardware. With NFV, functions like routing, load bala (...)


  • How to fix Windows 10 cursor disappeared on laptop?
  • Step 1: Open Windows Settings either from the Start menu or by using the ‘Windows + I’ shortcut key. After Windows Settings open up, click on ‘Ease of Access’ to open it. Step 2: In the ‘Ease (...)


  • What does “delete this message” mean?
  • To delete just this message from the email thread, click on the tiny downward grey triangle on the right, adjacent to the “reply” arrow. You’ll get a menu: You can see that I’ve already highlighted (...)


  • What does it mean to digitally sign a document?
  • Digitally signing a Microsoft Word document is quite simple. When you receive a form that requires signing: 1. Complete the form as needed. 2. Locate the “Signing Box”as shown below: 3. To begin “Sign (...)


  • Why are parts of my HyperHyper-V checkpoints still lining up?
  • Checkpoints can later be deleted when they are no longer needed after proper system operations have been verified. The availability of checkpoints for Hyper-V arrived with Windows Server and Windo (...)


Comments

Leave a Comment

Just Scan NOW! 📱

Email us