• Home
  • Does uninstalling OneDrive delete everything?

Does uninstalling OneDrive delete everything?

Our expert answer
Your Q
Yes, when you remove or delete a license, the user's old email, contacts, and calendar are retained for 30 days, then permanently deleted. If you remove or delete a license but don't delete the account, the content in the user's OneDrive will remain accessible to you even after 30 days.
Items deleted from a shared folder on OneDrive.com are sent to the recycle bin of only the shared folder’s owner. However, if you sync your OneDrive on a computer, items deleted from a shared folder do appear in the computer’s recycle bin. Only the owner of a shared folder can restore an item deleted from the folder.When you delete an Office 365 license, you lose all the data associated with it, including email and OneDrive for Business files, after 30 days. It’s likely you’ll need to get into their files or emails later for some reason, especially if the employee was customer facing.You can easily unlink or uninstall Microsoft OneDrive from your computer. That is what most people do when they want to uninstall an app, and it works well, except in the case of OneDrive. That will uninstall the app but won't remove it completely from your PC. After you remove it, the icon will disappear from the Taskbar's Notification area.

What happens to shared folder on OneDrive for business when account deleted?

From your description, you would like to know what if the owner's account is deleted, what happened the shared folder on OneDrive for business. Generally, the user's OneDrive would be remained as usual after the admin deleted this user's account, the files on this OneDrive space won’t be deleted immediately.

How long does the deleted user appear in the OneDrive?

The deleted user will appear in the Microsoft 365 admin center for 30 days. The default retention period for OneDrive is also 30 days, but you can change this in the OneDrive admin center (see Set the OneDrive retention for deleted users) or by using the PowerShell cmdlet SetSPOTenant -OrphanedPersonalSitesRetentionPeriod <int32>.

What happens to OneDrive for business data when a license is removed?

When a license is removed from a user, data that is associated with that account is held for 30 days. After the 30-day grace period, the data is deleted and can't be recovered. Files saved in OneDrive for Business aren't deleted unless the user is deleted from the Microsoft 365 admin center or is removed through Active Directory synchronization.

Does uninstalling OneDrive delete everything?

Simply removing/uninstalling OneDrive from a PC doesn’t delete anything on the PC nor the OneDrive servers for that matter. On the other hand, if you delete your OneDrive account and there are files stored only on the server then those particular files will be lost forever. DEL /S OneDrive won’t delete all the files.

Does uninstalling OneDrive delete everything?

Below are two helpful articles on a similar topic 👇

How to fix OneDrive not responding on Mac?

How do I uninstall Internet Explorer 11 from my computer?

Tired of looking for a video answer?

The answer is near 👇

Was this article helpful?

Yes No

Thanks so much for your feedback!

Have more questions? Submit a request

FAQ in 24 hours

Comments

Leave a Comment

Just Scan NOW! 📱

Email us